Trains…one of my favorite transportation methods

Bootsnall Prompt:What is it about train travel that captivates the imagination of travelers in every corner of the world? What about it makes the word “romantic” so apt? Do you have a rail experience that perfectly captures why we love trains so much? Or are you one of the people who actually avoids trains whenever possible?

I like public transportation. You get to stare out the window without worrying about driving. Sometimes you get to meet other interesting people.

But there is something more alluring about trains than the bus. Perhaps our brains hang onto the images of luxury trains even when taking a simple, crowded commuter route from Poughkeepsie to Manhattan.

Maybe my love for trains began when I was a young teen and they took me part of the trip from my small town in the Adirondacks to New York City with my family. From Albany to New York – the city I for so long ached to live in, I could think of no more sophisticated place than Manhattan. I always thought I’d have a closet sized studio, a cat, and plenty of time to write. And I’d take the train up north every now and then.

When I lived in Italy, the train was my ticket just about anywhere.

My brother and I continue to dream about our trip on the Trans-Siberian Railway.

Maybe it started when I was little and watched “Shining Time Station.”

Wherever the obsession started, I’m ready for my next trip any time.

 

Leave a Reply

