How to Dig in the Dirt

Week 3 prompt for BootsnAll’s Indie 2012: Have you ever studied or taken classes on a trip? What did you study, and perhaps more importantly, what did you learn while on that trip?  What would you like to learn on your travels this year?

The highlights of my first trip overseas were London, Edinburgh, Dublin, and Cardiff. The second time Paris and Rome. The third Paris and Barcelona. The first place I was completely obsessed with that I didn’t live was Manhattan. I lived in Florence, Italy for four months. While in Florence, I took advantage of cheap flights to visit London, Krakow, Dublin, and Berlin. I took the train to Rome three times from Florence.

While I love all those cities, I’m a country girl. I was raised in the Adirondack Mountains. And so, as much as those European cities taught me, I’m ready to see what rural Europe has to offer.

I’m ready to head to the farm. I want to stay in one place for awhile and find out what the soil has to tell me. I want to help grow the crops that turn into the delicious local specialties of wherever I happen to end up. I want to learn more about gardening. Most of all, I want to slow down and savor the best of what life has to offer. I’m not sure exactly what it is I want to learn, but I know I want to learn it outside with dirt under my fingernails.

One thought on “How to Dig in the Dirt

Leave a Reply

